First IWSG of 2014–Too Many Ideas, Too Little Time

The title of the post says it all. My biggest insecurity this month is that I’m too slow at writing. Too much of a perfectionist to get the most out of the few short hours I get every week to scribble something down. My head is full of ideas right now. They look something like this–

3 sequels to THE MAGIC WAKES (Science Fantasy)
YA Contemporary Science Fantasy
Romantic Suspense
A Space Opera
YA Contemporary

That’s 7 novels full of conflicted characters fighting for space in my head. They aren’t waiting patiently for their turn and that’s making it hard to concentrate and WRITE. Then there are the short story ideas, but we won’t get into that this month.

I didn’t quite finish Search For Knowledge (one of the sequels) in December, but I’m really close–4 more scenes to reach THE END. My goal is to finish it by Saturday. Fade Into Me (the YA contemporary scifi) needs another 10K words or so to reach the end. Hopefully I’ll start on it next week.

Every day I must make myself sit down and write. 
My goal is to finish those two stories in January. 
Clear some brain space. 
It sounds like a good plan right? 
Then why is it so hard?

I need someone to push me. Someone to email me and say, “Did you write another scene today?”

Anyone willing to do that for me?

I’m also heading up a blogfest on Unicorn Bell this month.

You can learn all about it and sign up for it HERE. Posting will be all week and I’ll highlight some of my favorite posts on UB during the week.

Purpose of IWSG: To share and encourage. Writers can express doubts and concerns without fear of appearing foolish or weak. Those who have been through the fire can offer assistance and guidance. It’s a safe haven for insecure writers of all kinds!

Posting: The first Wednesday of every month is officially Insecure Writer’s Support Group day. Post your thoughts on your own blog. Talk about your doubts and the fears you have conquered. Discuss your struggles and triumphs. Offer a word of encouragement for others who are struggling. Visit others in the group and connect with your fellow writer – aim for a dozen new people each time. I’m currently #136.

Also, in case you’ve missed the Facebook page

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on January 8, 2014, in IWSG, World of Sendek, writing goals. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’m in a similar position with five first drafts needing revision, some short stories crying out for attention, a blog to maintain… oh and an IWSG post to finish. A more experienced writer told me to choose whatever gave me most pleasure. I’m not taking that as meaning flit from project to project, but as focusing on the one that I can sink my soul into. Good luck Charity.

  2. You’re so young, Charity! You have lots of time. Let it go as slowly as you want–that changes for no good reason. Next year, you may be pounding it out. Your pace is the perfect pace for you. Writing is nice because you can write for decades and always be relevant, on-point, authentic.

    • I’m not as young as I look. 😉 But thank you so much. Every so often I try to remind myself that it’s better to take my time and put out something better instead of something rushed and “half baked”.

Leave a Reply

