Waking Up Dead by Margo Bond Collins

From Goodreads:
When Dallas resident Callie Taylor died young, she expected to go to Heaven, or maybe Hell. Instead, she met her fate early thanks to a creep with a knife and a mommy complex. Now she’s witnessed another murder, and she’s not about to let this one go. She’s determined to help solve it before an innocent man goes to prison. And to answer the biggest question of all: why the hell did she wake up in Alabama?

My Take:
This book had me from the very first chapter. The voice is great. It somehow stays light and fun while delving into solving a gruesome crime.

Callie’s relationship with Ashara and her Maw-Maw is so naturally funny and heart-warming that sometimes I forgot poor Molly got hacked up. There are moments of delicious suspense where I was on the edge of my seat, almost wanting to yell at them to watch out! Here’s a quick list of the goods and lows of the book.

Thumbs Up

  • the voice
  • the relationship between the characters
  • the logical progression of their detective work
  • the suspense

Low points

  • I really wanted to know more about Callie’s death (Since this is the first of the series, I’m sure more will come)
  • The language (I’m not big on swearing and this one had a lot for me)

I give Waking Up Dead by Margo Bond Collins a 4 for a great story with voice that hooks.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on December 31, 2013, in 4 Star Book Review. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I participated in a tour for this book. It has got lots of positive feedback.

  2. Thanks for doing these reviews! It's always helpful knowing what you thought about a book before I buy it.

    And happy New Year! I feel like it's been forever since I've “seen” you, but I'm lurking on your blog, I swear!

  3. This sounds like a fascinating story and I hadn't heard of it before reading your review. I am curious to know more about Callie, what happened to her, and what her death has in store for her. I love books with lots of suspense.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂
    ~Jess

Leave a Reply

