Introducing "Of Stardust" by February Grace

Blurb:

“Dreams are sacred…”

At the age of twenty-six, single, geeky bookseller Till Nesbitt inherits the shock of a lifetime: a huge Victorian farmhouse filled with unique tenants, and the knowledge that there is a reason she’s always been different. She’s destined to become a Fairy Godmother, because the skills are written into her DNA.

Till embarks on her fairy education at Dreams Come True University with much trepidation, guided on her journey by a unique mentor: a Celtic hybrid with a secret by the name of Gus.

When Till falls head over heels for Gus, will she break the most serious law in the Fairy Code, or will the truth of what really happened to Gus’s parents keep them from repeating history?

Buy links for the book:

Kindle
Nook
Paperback: Amazon 
Paperback: Barnes and Noble

Where to find her online:
Twitter: @FebruaryGrace
Facebook
Website

Q: How did you come up with the title?

A: The title “Of Stardust” comes from dialog spoken by my main male character, Gus. In a particular scene he and female lead, Till, are watching the Lyrid meteor shower together, and he is recalling things his mother used to tell him when he was a boy. Believe it or not, it turns into a very sweet, romantic moment for Gus and Till. It may well be, I believe, my favorite scene in the entire book.

Q: What genre do you consider your book(s)?

A: My first published novel GODSPEED was something of a hybrid: sci-fi, literary romance, and steampunk, combined. This novel is totally different. It’s a modern fantasy/romance.
If I had to classify myself as an author, I would fly the ‘sci-fi/fantasy’ banner, most proudly, though all of my work has romance in it. I can’t write a story without romance, it is just not how my brain works. Or my heart!

Me too!

Q: Have you ever hated something you wrote?

A: Absolutely! I think every writer, if they have any sense at all, has hated something they’ve written.
In fact at some point I usually hate everything I’ve written/am writing. It’s a phase I go through while I’m still trying to get something closer to the way I envision it. It’s usually only later (much later) that I can go back and read any of my work and not cringe.

I tend to forget what I’ve written pretty quickly, and sometimes I’ll go back and read something think ‘that’s not the worst thing I’ve ever seen.’ That’s about as good as it gets for me when it comes to accepting my work LOL.

Q: What was the hardest part of writing your book?

A: Fighting my myriad health issues, which are constantly interrupting my writing. It’s so frustrating, sometimes I will have the ideas right there but be too unwell to get them down on paper/type them out. Other times I feel okay physically but I couldn’t think up a line of coherent dialog to save my life. So I have to seize those opportunities, rare though they are, when I can think and manage to get the words down at the same time and really run with them. That’s how the books I’ve written have come into being, by stringing enough of those moments together to make it work somehow. It’s a continual struggle for me to write these days, I miss the time when it all came so easily. I keep fighting for the characters. Someone has to tell their story.

You are such an inspiration! If you can battle health issues and still keep the books coming than the rest of us have no excuse for being lazy. 🙂 I hope the health concerns get better for you. 

Q: Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

A: Yes, I want to say THANK YOU!!! I appreciate each and every person who spends some of their time living in one of the worlds I’ve created. It is an honor to have someone take precious time out of their life to spend with your characters, and I only hope that when you’ve read one of my stories, that the characters and the feeling of the story will stay with you, long after you close the book. I hope that you will think it was worth the time you spent, and maybe even want to go back and visit with those characters again. The only thing better than hearing a reader say they loved your story is hearing them say that they can’t wait to read it again.

Amen to that!

Thank you so much, Charity, for hosting me today!

Author Bio: February Grace is a writer, artist, and poet who lives in Southeastern Michigan. She sings on key, plays by ear, and is more than mildly obsessed with colors, clocks, and meteor showers.

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on November 13, 2013, in Author interview, books. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Oooh! I love genre mash ups. –And I know what you mean about health issues. I've had to deal with those around writing and home schooling. It definitely makes life a challenge.

  2. Hi Crystal! Thank you so much for reading and for commenting! I was a homeschooling mom too– from the time my daughter was in Kindergarten until she decided to go to high school for her junior and senior years. So I know how hard it is to fit writing in there, and with the health stuff too. Keep it up, though! It is so good for your kids to see you making time for your passion and you inspire others, like me! :~) Thanks again for your comment!Thank you so much Charity, again, for hosting me. I didn't realize this post was up already or I would have commented earlier! I really appreciate all your time and effort. Thanks again! :~) ~bru

  3. Sounds like an interesting book. I know what she means about going back and hating what you wrote later. I do that all the time, and not just with my writing.

  4. Oh, this sounds like a charming little book!

Leave a Reply

