POP Travel, Hook Lines and Cliff Hangers

I’m so excited to have Tara Tyler guest posting today. Last year she participated in the Query workshop and contest that we hosted over at Unicorn Bell and grabbed a publishing contract! Her debut novel released yesterday and she’s going to talk to us about it today.

Oh, and just in case you were wondering, we will be having QueryCon again this year. We’ve started working on the guest judges and schedule so stay tuned for more information. It will be sometime in September so finish polishing those manuscripts!

Tara, take it away!

Charity! Thanks so much for having me over to talk about Pop Travel Hooks and Hangers.

Blogging has taught me so much about how to improve my writing. Blogfests, contests, reading articles and advice; it’s a wonderful tool! Today I’m going to share a tiny piece of what I’ve learned, some Hook Lines and Cliff Hangers, an idea I got from a blogfest put on by Falling For Fiction a while back.

When I read a book, the back cover blurb is the biggest hook for me to buy it. But to keep me reading and want to give it a good review, I need to be hooked throughout the book. Here are some of my hookers and hangers, from the beginnings and endings of a few chapters. The first line is always the toughest…

Chapter 1
“A war raged in Sarah’s head.”
<—>
“In the chair sat a pile of sparkly dust.”
Chapter 2
<—>
“Cooper stepped out and squinted up at the cloudless sky. With the ominous implications of the task set before him, it should be pouring.”
Chapter 7
“Federal investigators and emergency personnel invaded Concourse C.”
Chapter 10
“Jared pulled Miki closer.”
Chapter 11
<—>
“No one invaded his turf.”
Chapter 12
<—>
“She went to sleep optimistic, anxious to continue the game.”
Chapter 16
<—>
“After nodding to each other in acceptance of the challenge, they began their journey into the dank and gloomy depths.”
Chapter 17
<—>
“‘Help me,’ he mouthed to Geri and Cooper and backed out with his supplies.”
Chapter 22
“A whisper in Geri’s earpiece startled her.”

Can’t give any more or there will be spoilers!

And here are a few hooking quotes…

“As his grandfather used to say, ‘If you want something done right, don’t screw up.'”

“He didn’t know which was worse, full-on lies or partial truths.”

“He scooted off, afraid she might say it again like an auto-flushing toilet, shooing someone away to make room for the next customer.”

“His inventions gave him access to the world, but he was never allowed to go anywhere.”

Hope those hooked your attention and left you hanging! Look at your WIP and see if you have some zinger hooks and hangers.

Thanks again, Charity, for helping me spread the word about Pop Travel!

Book Info:
POP TRAVEL by Tara Tyler
Release Date: July 7, 2013
Publisher: Curiosity Quills
You can find POP Travel on Amazon

Tara Tyler started out as a math teacher. After having a hand in everything from waitressing to rocket engineering and living up and down the Eastern US, she finally found some roots, writing and teaching in Ohio with her three active boys and Coach Husband. In addition to her novels, she has published short stories and poetry in Science Fiction, Fantasy, Thriller, and Humor. So many stories to tell!

Mini Blurb:
In a futuristic cat-and-mouse game, hard-boiled detective J.L. Cooper is chased across the world using Pop Travel teleportation, which has a deadly flaw he is determined to expose.

Back Cover:
In 2080, technology has gone too far for J. L. Cooper. He is happily hidden in his simple, secluded life as a private detective in a small town, far from any pop travel laser teleportation stations. Until he takes on a client who insists pop travel made his fiancé disappear.

When Cooper investigates, he finds evidence of pop travel’s deadly flaw, sparking a series of murders, attempts on his life, and threats to his brother. He’d like to pass off the evidence but knows he’s being watched and can’t trust anyone. And who would believe him?

The only way he can save his brother is to fool his observers while looking for a way to expose the problem. He decides to go to the source and confront the Creator of pop travel. On his way, Cooper meets Southern siren, Geri Harper (an undercover FBI agent) who tags along despite his protests. When they reach the Creator, he has plans of his own and leads them on a wild detour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on July 8, 2013, in Blog Tour, debut books, Guest Blogger. Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Like an auto-flushing toilet – that image will stick with me all right.Congratulations, Tara!!

  2. Love the first line and all the rest too. Can't wait to read Pop Travel myself. Congrats again, Tara!

  3. If you want something done right, don't screw it up – LOL!

  4. Congratulations to Tara. This is so exciting.

  5. Ha! I love your hooks and hangars! And I really like the don't screw up quote. That's definitely something my grandfather would have said!

  6. Love those hooks and hangars, and I loved that fest! Congrats again on your book, Tara!!!

  7. I'm totally hooked. Get it? Anyway I enjoyed reading these hookers and hangers and can't wait to sink my teeth into this book.

  8. Yay! Congrats to Tara. I just got my copy 🙂

  9. Those are awesome hooks and hangars!

  10. thanks so much, you guys!all this attention is making me blush! not used to so many nice things being said to me. glad i'm spreading out this tour!and charity, thanks for allllll your help!

  11. Sounds interesting.

  12. You are more than welcome! It's been great having you here today.

  13. Oh! I remember hearing about this one. Congratulations on the publishing contract, Tara. I didn't know. 🙂

  14. Great first line. Pop Travel sounds like an interesting read. I've entered the competition and added Pop Travel to my to-read list. 🙂

  15. Those sample lines from the book accomplish exactly what you set out to do: make you want to continue reading.

  16. What a fun peek inside! I totally agree that I've learned so much about writing through the blogging community.

  17. thanks again, bloggy friends! wheee!

  18. Sounds like a great book! I love the hook and hanger idea. I've never seen that before, but it definitely works. Best of luck to you!

  19. Such nifty hooks & hangers! They really capture the attention.(I'm trying to play catch-up…)

Leave a Reply

