Book Review Legacy Rising by Shane Scollins

From Goodreads:
“You can’t escape the demons of your past, if you don’t even know who they are…”

Alison’s new life has been exactly as she wanted, far away from the bad memories of her childhood, and the college shooting that claimed her best friend. Things are going well. Until an impossible threat from the past, comes crashing into her life.

Nothing could have prepared her for this twist of fate, and before long, she finds herself the subject of an FBI surveillance team designed to entrap whomever it is that has intruded upon her life. But the FBI, has no idea what they are dealing with. There is no profile for this case.

When Alison least expects it, she meets Ryan, a man who seems every bit too good to be true. It’s not a good time for this complication, but she can’t help falling for him. And letting down her guard may be the biggest mistake of her life.

My Take:
Holy cow! I don’t even know/remember where I picked this up, but when my kindle was repaired there it was. I read this in one day. Actually, just a few short hours because it was so intense I couldn’t put it down.

Scollins’ wove a deeply disturbing story around Alison and her devastating life. How could things get any worse than being the lone survivor of a horrible massacre during your college years? Scollins finds a way.

I’m still processing, but Scollins created characters with depth that I will continue to think about for days. The emotions were raw, real, and very powerful. One of my favorite things about Alison was that as scared as she was, she didn’t give up. She could really kick some butt. “Prudence not paranoia” really sums it up, but you’ll have to read to understand what I mean by that.

I give Legacy Rising by Shane Scollins a 5 because I couldn’t put it down. I HAD to know how Alison survived.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on January 4, 2013, in 5 Star Book Review. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A five is a high compliment!

  2. That's a huge award. The author should be proud. I think the font creates a kind of anxiety in me as I view it. Excellent marketing.

  3. Thanks for the review.

  4. This is a great review. Thanks for sharing with us.

Leave a Reply

