Book Review–Seduction of the Scepter by E. Rose Sabin

Quick Note: We made it safely to TN late last night, and our house is under contract! Many blessings and we are now half way to our new home. We’ll visit family a few days before going the rest of the way on Sunday.

From Goodreads:
At her sister’s wedding feast, young Lara Basmajinik shares a single dance with handsome Prince Kaz. That night Lara makes a vow in her journal to marry only for love, never for political expediency.

As Lara matures, her infatuation with Prince Kaz grows into love. However, to her great dismay, she is commanded by the king to become wife and nursemaid to Kaz’s feeble-minded younger brother, Jaederion. When the crown prince is poisoned at his betrothal feast, Kaz is accused of the murder and imprisoned for life. Jaederion inherits the throne, although it is Lara, his queen, who wields the real power—power enough to free Kaz. But to do so would jeopardize her son’s inheritance.

Lara must at last decide where her loyalties lie: with the only man she has ever loved, with her son, or with her own increasing hunger for dominance and power.

My Take:
Normally I like things like high speed chases, gun fights, and stars going nova to fill the pages of my books. Or a gritty murder mystery to solve. It’s sort of strange that I’ve been reading so many historical settings lately. They normally aren’t my thing, but I’ve enjoyed this little foray onto different shelves. 

Seduction is full of intrigue, strategy, and a good dose of heartache. The names were hard for me to wrap my brain around and I’m sure what I was saying was nothing like what the author thought. However, that didn’t really matter, or even slow me down. Okay, well I did stumble a few times when I wasn’t sure who I was reading about, BUT those were all minor characters that didn’t really matter. 

I loved how this is written like a series of journal entries. It allowed Sabin to use an easy and personal tone that really pulled me into the story. Lara is a strong female lead who even though she didn’t originally want to be queen, finds that she’s really good at it. As I was reading I kept thinking about the things in my life I didn’t want to do, but once I did I found that I enjoyed them (such as planning the QueryCon at UB). This helped me relate to Lara since I’ve never been queen.

The writing was clean, solid, and I read the whole book in about two days. The romance was heartbreaking. Sabin did a wonderful job showing the two sides at war within Lara–mother or lover?

I give Seduction of the Scepter by E. Rose Sabin a solid 4.

1-5 scale and what it means:
1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3:  I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on November 9, 2012, in 4 Star Book Review. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Not my kind of read, but glad everything went well with the movers yesterday and you arrived safe in Tennessee.

  2. I'm glad you made it safe to TN. And I often find that books in different genres than my norm can have a different appeal, especially if it is laced with wonderful intrigue and mystery.

  3. And I think it's good to step outside your box sometimes for that very reason. Plus I think it did my brain good to try something different.

  4. 🙂 Yeah, I wondered about my guy readers with this one. Probably more of a chick read without being cheesy chick lit.

  5. I love a good, heart-breaking romance. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Sounds like a good read. Thanks for the review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

