Planning a Blog Tour? Helpful Sites

Some of you may think I’m starting a bit early since my book doesn’t come out until February. But you know what? Whoever it was that told me to start early was right and here’s my shouted

Thank You!

I feel like I’m learning a lot this week as I put together my plan, the posts, look for reviewers, and blog hosts. There are several of you who are or will be planning a tour soon and I wanted to share some of the sites I’ve found to be very helpful.

If you look up “How to plan a blog tour” you’ll get tons of sites. The following might not pop up, but they’ve really helped me.

Since Thanksgiving and Christmas will fill most of the time between now and my book release, I wanted to get as much done ahead of time as possible. My second goal was to make my blog tour as easy as possible on those willing to host me on their blogs. Book Marketing Buzz has a post titled 50 Great Ideas for Great Guest Post for Authors Promoting Books. These topics helped me get started. I picked a few and then thought of my own topics that fit my novel and genre a bit better. Over the next two months I’ll write all the guest posts I can so that January isn’t super crowded or stressful.

Then, last week one of my co-hosts from Unicorn Bell launched a great new site called The Blog Tour Exchange. Sharon has a book coming out from Curiosity Quills called The Charge, so she knows how stressful all this planning can be. This website helps match up people with similar blog/book/reading styles so you have somewhere to start looking for blog tour stops.  Check out the post How To Plan an Awesome D-I-Y Blog Tour for loads of links.  

And finally, Pippa Jay has a huge list of Book Reviewers you can sift through. At one time I thought it was divided by genre, and it might be still. I just know it’s huge, but if you read through the blurbs you can pick reviewers that are more likely to reach the people right for YOUR book. 

Good luck! I‘m continuing to work on my house and my blog tour. I’m really excited about one of them. LOL.  

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on October 24, 2012, in Blog Tour, Book Review, Help, websites, Weekly Goals. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. And I'm glad you started early – you got the last spot on my calendar in February!Spunk on a Stick's Tips had some good information earlier this year on blog tours as well.

  2. Thanks for the website suggestion Alex. I'll check it out today, and I'm so glad I got a spot with you. 🙂

  3. Sounds like it's a lot of work. I'm glad it's going well.(I'd host you on my blog, but since my traffic is so low, I don't think you'd get much of a push from it.)

  4. How you manage to do all this and still move is beyond me. Thanks for all the website recommendations.

  5. Where was this post a few months ago when I needed it? ;-)I think you're very smart starting early. Looking forward to being part of it all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

