Guest Post–Elizabeth from Chandara Writes

REMINDER: For the months of June through August I will only be posting on Tuesdays and Fridays (with a few special blog tour days thrown in). There is still room if you would like to guest post on My Writing Journey. Email me at charity.bradford@gmail.com

Keeping a positive attitude

Thanks, Charity, for hosting me!

Here are some tips that have helped me along the road to publication.

Don’t give up! It’s not a suggestion. It’s a rule.

google images

Failure can only be defined by you. Every time you get a passed opportunity (my sister didn’t like the word rejection and I agreed with her) you are one step closer to achieving that publication goal. The only thing you can be sure of is failing when you haven’t tried.

I cringe when I read about someone sending out a query or a submission and they write they expect a rejection. Really? Why send it? I had to struggle with this. You may think it’s safer to think this way. It’s not. It won’t alleviate the sting of rejection when it comes into your inbox. You can’t really shield yourself from it. After about…don’t faint, 150 passed opportunities on numerous manuscripts, I’ve learned the hard way. Instead, hit that send button and celebrate!

Write down the title of your book with you as the author and published by… Psyche yourself out the positive way and savor it. Let that smile spread across your face and the tingling in your fingers know that you ARE going to do this. If/when that passed opportunity comes into your mailbox it’ll still sting, but you were on the verge of greatness for about four weeks and that feels good. Enjoy it. And remember it for the next round.


Surround yourself with positive people. I’m a grouch by nature. Just ask my kids. Being happy is hard work. You want to surround yourself with people that will help you balance yourself. I’ve had awesome supportive writers on my team. I’ve vented, cried and threaten to quit. And that’s okay. Allow yourself time to grieve and move on. You’re emptying that well of negative emotion and starting from scratch again.

And…Learn to let go. I’ve written three manuscripts before The Second Sign and two were hard to let go. I wanted to force them to work. I wanted to fix it, to keep sending them out, but I realized that I didn’t want to change anything. For me, they were perfect. But…I needed to be real. And so, I decorated two boxes with nice wrapping paper. I took my time making sure the boxes were perfect. And then I placed my manuscript, notes, index cards, maps, etc inside, and closed the lid and shelved them. It eased my conscious to know they are in a safe place. Yeah, I’m a total geek.


How do you keep a positive attitude while facing challenges?

Elizabeth is the author of the Dark YA Paranormal Romance, The Second Sign which is scheduled to be released February 7, 2013 by Sapphire Star Publishing.

Blurb:
After Gabby refuses to give her soul to a demon, she’s given twenty-four hours to comply while her friends begin to die. Jake, her almost boyfriend, is the key to her salvation, but a fool with a key is a very dangerous thing.

Elizabeth spent most of her younger years as an avid reader with a wild imagination which led her to write her first manuscript at the age of fourteen. She lives in Chicago with her family, a household of kids, and the bliss of chaos. The good kind.

Follow her journey:

Chandara Writes
Twitter
Website
Sapphire Star Publishing

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on June 15, 2012, in debut books, Guest Blogger, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Sending out queries and expecting a rejection seems very counter-productive!

  2. pray! seriously! Dear God, help me deal with this response, and help me get better. then i figure the right fit will come when i'm ready to go to the next step.thanks, elizabeth & charity =)have a great weekend!

  3. I love your optimistic attitude Liz. And I love the fact that you safely put away your old manuscripts in wrapped boxes. For my very first novel, I went ahead and designed a cover and had it printed on Lulu.com just for my self. It sits on my bookshelf and I smile when I look at it. It was a first novel and I learned from it. And by having it printed I've got closure with it.

  4. It's a psyche thing. lol I did it all the time. "expect the worse, hope for the best." I'm done with that mindset. =)

  5. The power of prayer. I like that. =)

  6. Thanks Anita. I love the idea of having a bound copy just for me. Awesome. =)

  7. Please pass me the sunshine flavored candies that you are obviously eating. I could really use them about twice a week :)But yes, a positive attitude can definitely work wonders.I bet you gave all those candies to Charity.

  8. LOL, that would explain a lot wouldn't it?

  9. Yes, we should expect good things. Thanks for the reminder. And I love the idea of wrapping up a shelved novel. I'll have to keep that in mind.

  10. Never give up, never surrender. Rejections are part of the job description as a writer, but you don't have to expect each submission to be rejected. I think that each submission will be accepted and if it isn't I send to someone with more sense. 🙂

  11. Thanks for the comments. I like the idea of sunshine flavored candies. =) Thanks Martin. It's a great mindset to have.

  12. Thanks for the comments. I like the idea of sunshine flavored candies. =) Thanks Martin. It's a great mindset to have.

  13. 'Passed opportunity' – love it. I agree that convincing yourself that a passed opportunity is coming doesn't actually make it any easier if/when it arrives. Good on you for not giving up and landing that publishing deal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

