How to get blog followers

REMINDER: For the months of June through August I will only be posting on Tuesdays and Fridays (with a few special blog tour days thrown in). I have some great guests scheduled, but there is still room if you would like to guest post on My Writing Journey. Email me at charity.bradford@gmail.com

I wrote this back in December 2011 as a guest blog for Elizabeth Poole’s Blog, but I don’t know that she ever posted it. EP is one of my favorite people, so go check her out anyway. She has a new four month old baby that is just adorable.

Since my life is about to hit hyper drive until the end of August, I’m going to share it with you.

NOTE: I’ve since learned it was scheduled but eaten by blogger while Elizabeth was in the hospital having her baby. It’s now up HERE.

How do I get more followers?

Here’s my first piece of advice–
Stop stressing about the number of followers you have. Yeah, I know. Considering I just had a 500+ giveaway makes me sound like a hypocrite. Watching the numbers go up is a form of validation.

And we all need that, but I’ll let you in on a little secret–I was looking for an excuse to give away some books. And hitting a milestone seemed like a good excuse.

And the slightly crazy side of me really needed the likes to match up with the follows. 500 and 100 look so much nicer together than 500 and 63. You know what I mean?

However, you’ll drive yourself crazy if the numbers is the only thing you concentrate on with your blog.

There are lots of posts out there that talk about ways to pull in followers, but I’m just going to talk about the three things that have helped me get followers.

1. Know your purpose as a blogger. This will help you know your audience. For example, my blog is about my writing journey. I talk about what I’m learning about the writing craft and industry, share story bits, review books, and interview other writers. My purpose is to learn and grow in the area of writing. My audience is me, and people like me.

2. Find similar blogs that you will enjoy reading and follow them. Once you follow make thoughtful comments. Participate in the discussions on those blogs. People will notice you and visit your blog to learn more about you.

And yes, I’m getting a D- in this area right now, but I hope to do better soon. Don’t give up on me yet.

3. Participate in blogging events that are relevant to your blog content. For me, this means writing blogfests. Over the summer I didn’t participate and my numbers stayed the same. Now that I’m getting involved in the social aspect of blogging, my numbers have started going up again. And you know what? I’ve met some new people that I have a lot in common with.

Just make sure you don’t get so involved that you stop writing. You know that WIP or project that you started a while back?

That’s it really. There are a few cautions that will help you along this path.
1. Be patient. Followers will come–and go. It doesn’t mean you aren’t a great blogger. Life is just that way.

2. Be as positive as possible. Don’t bash people in the industry or other bloggers. Remember that what you post is out there for all the world to see.

3. Don’t kill yourself trying to do it all. For most of us, blogging is not a paying job. You can’t comment on every blog. You can’t read every blog. I schedule time to write my blogs (usually a weeks worth at a time) and to scan the blogs in my google reader. Although I can’t comment on each blog I follow every day, I do scan them. (Think 200+ blogs a day and you’ll see why scanning is the only option.) When a post really speaks to me, I make a point to click over and comment. I wish I could comment more, but I’ve learned it isn’t possible.

Remember, as wonderful as blogging is, the one thing that will improve your writing the most is living life.

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Help, Personal Journaling. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Excellent tips! And it isn't the followers. (I know people don't believe that with as many as I have.) But it's not. It's the connections. It's the friendships. Those matter more.

  2. I scheduled it to be posted in February, and I swore it went live, but I am checking my archives and it seems the Blogger failed to post this! Stupid Blogger! Well, I'll post this this week. It's an awesome post and I would like to share it with my followers. 😀 Thanks again!

  3. Doing giveaways helps too. People love free sh*t (oh excuse my language) 😛 I mean that people like to be awarded with (ahem) gifts…

  4. Great advice! Quality of followers is also important – no point having hundreds of people follow you because of a competition if none of them are actually interested in your blog (or your books).

  5. This is so true. I probably only "know" about 20 of those 500 followers of mine. I'd like to know more of them, but they don't comment! ;)And I know what you're going to say, "But Charity, you don't comment on my blog."I'm a guilty lurker, I admit it and should probably be flogged for telling others to comment more.

  6. Go for it! I'll link to it when it goes up.

  7. Yes! Free stuff! That's what my hubby is the most afraid of. Me giving away free stuff that's not free for me, aka HIM the money maker. 😉

  8. Quality over quantity. 50 enthusiastic followers are better than 1000 who never do anything.

  9. I have just started blogging, and while I enjoyed posting my first post, it is a bit discouraging to receive no comments or followers. This blog post really did help remind me that it's not all about that–I should be writing first and foremost for myself, so thank you!

Leave a Reply

