Wimsical Wednesday and an Award

Sorry I’ve been so random lately. There is just so much stuff going on in my head and in my life right not that it’s hard to concentrate. Thank goodness for those blog awards that go around like crazy!

In the last few months, three people have given me the Versatile Blogger Award (yeah, ironic since I can’t think of things to write about)-Elizabeth Poole, Yadin Bromberg, and Cally Jackson. I added each of them to my awards page, but didn’t post a new 7 things about me. Here is the ORIGINAL 7 things from the first time I did this in 2010.

And now for a new 7 things about me:

  • I still dream about the end of the world on a regular basis. It no longer creeps me out because I can use bits and pieces of the dreams for the stories I write. Let’s just hope my dreams don’t turn out to be prophetic like Talia’s.

  • I’m almost forty, but I forget that all the time. Perhaps its because I hang out with teenagers every day of the week? Whatever the reason, I’m still seventeen in my head. This causes problems when I think I can do something and then my body reminds me I’m getting older. This is why I’ve started running again.

  • I’ve completed 5 half marathons over the last four years. Then I stopped running and gained 20lbs. I DO NOT recommend you try this. Each run now feels like I have 10lbs weights tied to my ankles. It hurts, its hard, and I don’t want to do it. But the only way I’m going to lose the weight and have more energy it to run. Plus, since I started running again two weeks ago, I’ve been able to write new stuff. It clears my head for me. 🙂
  • Yesterday I went to the eye doctor and learned my eyes are still good. Except for night time. The weird part about that is that I was disappointed. I wanted an excuse to get contacts. The plan is I’m getting violet contacts closer to book release time. How cool would it be to wear them to any book signings??? (See totally think like a 17 year old!)
  • I’m still head over heals in love with my husband. We  met when we were twelve and finally married after knowing each other for ten years (we had to grow up and he wanted to serve a mission for our church). It’s been almost 16 years since then and he’s still my best friend. When we get busy with “work” or our church activity, he’s the person I miss the most. If I were to be stranded on a desert island and could only take one thing–it would be him. 🙂
  • My religion is more of an every day life style than just a Sunday thing. Hopefully this is true for most people, but sometimes I wish it wasn’t. I love my church, but it keeps me as busy as my kids. This leaves little time for my selfish writing desires. 
  • And # 7: This song has been stuck in my head for the last two weeks straight.

And for passing it along, here are my last seven new followers:
Rebecca Belliston
Julia Keanini
Lo
Michelle Ann King
Jess–How do I find you?
Encourage One Another
Laura Barnes

Is there anything you are just DYING to know about me?
About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on April 18, 2012, in awards, follower appreciation, music. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. It's not selfish to desire to write or to have time to write. Everyone needs "me" time including people with extremely full lives in balancing everything.The thing that irritates me is the lack of professional respect that writers get from family. If you worked at a stock brokerage firm or as an engineer and said, "I work part-time for Goldman Sachs" no one would ever say anything to the fact that for 20-hours a week, you go to work. At school or in church, people that know you would say, "Charity works at Goldman Sachs part-time." And that would be that.But because you're a writer, they see you in front of the computer and think "Oh she's just wasting time again. Go and barge in on her…she won't mind. Go ask her for this, go ask her for that…"Writing gets no respect. My brother is the same way. He says "Oh you're doing 'that' again." And it's very condescending and judgmental.

  2. You met your husband when you were twelve! That's adorable, such an inspiring love story.

  3. I probably should reword that last fact about me. I don't feel my writing time is selfish, and most of my friends and family have been very respectful of that time.I'm the problem. When I sit down to write I am often tired and unmotivated because of all the other activities in my life. Many talks at church have been about cutting the clutter, choosing between good, better, and best. I just don't know what to cut! My mind is always thinking, I should check on so and so, or I should write her a note of thanks, or something. I actually want to do all these good things, but when piled on top of a house that needs constant cleaning, kids that need to be driven EVERYWHERE, and so on, I'm just emotionally drained. But I don't know how to turn off my brain. Sometimes I fall into that blissful state where I slip into my private worlds. That's when I write and write and write. This fall my last child will start school and I think a lot of my 'guilt' will lessen. Just think, 7 hours to actually do my writing job!

  4. Yep, we both moved a lot during the early years but settled in the same area when we were 12. He's always been my friend. He's the one I called when I needed to vent about family situations, etc. We went to church dances together (and dancing with him is STILL one of my favorite things in the world), went on our first dates together (my Jr. Prom), and generally started dreaming about our futures together. Over the years we've learned that when things start to get "stale" or easily taken for granted in our relationship, it means we need a new dream to work on together. Good thing we've both got a bit of gypsy in us.

  5. That's a sweet love story:) I'll try to give some of my love-struck young women at church the benefit of the doubt when they're sooo in love with some kid! I have a hard time balancing it all, too, because what is the "best" good we can do? It's hard to answer, but boy do I know when I'm getting it wrong!

  6. Yeah, once you're exercise regularly, you can't suddenly stop!Our pastor says to keep it balanced. He doesn't want people doing 'church' stuff every day. I like that attitude!

  7. I admire your ability to do church stuff every day. I wish I had that kind of dedication. 😉

  8. Congrats on the award…these are so fun!! Thanks for the shout out and I seriously love that song 🙂

  9. Nice to get to know a little bit more about you. I love that you met your husband when you were 12. I met mine when I was 18, then got married at 20. Our eighth wedding anniversary is in September. 🙂

Leave a Reply

