Book Review–Ravenwild by Peter J Plasse

Well, I didn’t get as much done during my two weeks of being unplugged as I hoped. But I did get enough done I guess. I found that I couldn’t concentrate because I was out of my usual routine. Weird huh?

Anyway, I enjoyed my trip home to TN to see my family, but not the seven hours of driving both ways. Did you know that gas is twenty cents cheaper per gallon in TN than NC? Yeah, what’s up with that?

And, I can’t buy Purity brand cottage cheese in NC, but that’s a different post…

I’m bringing you another book review today. Come back Wednesday for Follower Appreciation!

From Goodreads:
Returning home from another grueling shift of E.R. work, Dr. Blake Lee Strong comes across a downed motorcyclist and stops to help, but little does he know that his world and that of his family will soon be turned upside down. Duped into being transported to another planet called Inam’Ra, Dr. Strong and his family are thrust into a medieval world populated by Trolls, Gnomes, Elves, Dwarves, Humans and other alien beings. An epic odyssey begins as the Strong family fights for not only their own survival, but also for the continued existence of the citizens of Ravenwild.

My Take:
I have put this review off for a long time. I considered not doing it at all because the author sought me out and asked for the review and I wanted to be all positive about the story. In the end, I decided to just be honest.

There’s a lot of potential in this book. The characters are likeable, the world settings clear and believable, and the plot epic. It was easy enough to follow the jumps between worlds and main character plots.

The problem I had with this book was the fact that there were A LOT of characters. Everyone got a name and history, even if they were only going to make a one chapter appearance. It got confusing and I couldn’t keep up with everyone.

In fact, one of the main characters ended up with two names because she developed amnesia and the doctor gave her a new name. That’s fine, but what bugged me about that is within a few pages she was reunited with the Prince and he never told her, “Your name is Stephanie.” Everyone kept calling her the other name, except for the spot where the author slipped and called her Stephanie. Why wouldn’t he tell her who she was? It didn’t make sense to me.

And finally, I had some issues with age appropriate behaviors. The kids in the book were all over the place like they couldn’t decide what age they were. The youngest was 10 or 11 I believe and still allowed in the bathroom while her father took a bath. I almost stopped reading there. My four year old son isn’t allowed in the bathroom when I shower. Enough said.

I don’t know the history of this author and his journey to publication. I really wanted to love this book because it sounds like my kind of story. Science mashed with fantasy. As I said, this has the potential to be an amazing story. I just felt like it needed a little more tightening. I found myself thinking, “Did he have crit partners?”

Rating scale for book reviews.

1: I couldn’t even finish it / just plain bad
2: I hope I didn’t pay for this / disappointing
3: I didn’t hate it, but it was still missing something / forgettable but inoffensive
3.5: On the line between good and ok / like, not love
4: Solid mind candy / worth reading
4.5: So very close to perfection! / must read
5: I could not put it down and I’m still thinking about it! / a true treasure

I’m going to give this book a 3. I would give it a 3.5 but I couldn’t finish it. Granted this might just be me. I’m not having a lot of luck finishing books right now. I’ve been reading The Name of the Wind for two months and its an excellent read. I just don’t have a lot of free time and I’m often too tired to read when I do get the time.

Now I feel like a heel. Hangs head and hides for the rest of the week.

Currently Reading:
The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (pg 552/722)

Coming Up:
A Girl Named Zippy by Haven Kimmel
If I Stay by Gayle Forman
Portal by Imogen Rose
Between by Cyndi Tefft

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on June 27, 2011, in Book Recommendations, Book Review. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Never fails, never get as much done as you hoped to! But hope it was at least a fun time off!! Glad you're back 😉

  2. Hi! I'm Mike, the artist of Ravenwild. Thanks for taking the time to read our book. Peter wanted to comment on your review in order to explain some of the confusion you had. I'll let him do that when he gets the time.Thanks again.

  3. I'm glad you had a great vacation! Minus the driving. 🙂

  4. You have a fabulous blog! I want to award you the Magical Blog Award for all the hard work you do!I invite you to follow me, if you haven’t already done so, since we have a lot in common, but no pressure. I’m not giving you the award just so you will follow me. You really do deserve it!Take care:-)Go to http://astorybookworld.blogspot.com/p/awards.html and pick up your award.~DeirdraP.S. I'm also looking to interview avid readers to find out what they like to read and published authors (agented, self published, small press, etc.) to find out what they wrote and what the pathway to publishing was like for them. Let me know if you or someone you know is interested in being interviewed and I will send over the questions you can fill out at your leisure. My email address is Guidedhope (at)gmail(dot)comBTW I'm LDS too!

  5. Don't feel like a heel. Honesty is (almost always) the best policy. It takes courage to be constructive. At least now we know when you give a book 4 or 5 stars, it really deserves it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

