Last chance 1st Chapter Critique!

Today is the last day to put your name in the hat to win…

A First Chapter Critique!
or 10 pages if your first chapter is really short.

My critiques consist of a lot of comments. I generally write whatever pops into my head as I read. For instance:

  • what I like
  • if something is confusing
  • questions that I’m asking
  • passive voice
  • anything that throws me out of the story
  • telling when you could show
  • grammar and mechanical issues

The goal is to give you a glimpse into the mind of your reader.

  • Am I asking the questions you WANT me to be asking?
  • Am I hooked on your characters? Setting? Premise?
  • Would I like to read more?

I want to keep this giveaway as simple as possible, but I’d also like to give you extra entries for spreading the word. I will give away 1 critique for every 10 people that enter. More entries = more critiques, so your chances don’t get any worse by sharing the giveaway with your other writer friends. You have two ways to enter:

  1. Leave a comment and say “I want to win!”
  2. Fill out the Form below for extra entries.

Feel free to come back each time you mention the giveaway in a Tweet, on Facebook, or on you own blog and fill out the form again for more entries.

The entry deadline is midnight on December 22nd, US Eastern time. I’ll use Random.org and announce the winners on December 23rd. 

Here’s a button for your blog.

If you Tweet, please add @charitybradford so I can see it. Thanks!

About charitybradford

Science fiction and fantasy writer and blogger. My first novel is now available--The Magic Wakes (WiDo Publishing, 2013)

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Critique Giveaway. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I'm just stopping by to wish you a Merry Christmas, Charity. Have a lovely time celebrating! 🙂

Leave a Reply

